• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Vermont Lawmakers Approve Waiting Period for Handgun Sales

solus

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
8,165
Location
here nc
US News & Report, 17 May, quote
Vermont lawmakers approved a measure that would institute a 24-hour waiting period for handgun sales, including for those bought at gun shows.
The Democrat-controlled Vermont House of Representatives on Thursday gave final approval to the measure, which was passed by the Senate in March. It will now head to the desk of Republican Gov. Phil Scott, who said he did not know if he will sign it, according to the Associated Press. The measure does not have veto-proof support in the legislature.

Proponents of the bill say it would help prevent suicides and homicides.

"A waiting period provides time to cool off, interrupting the impulsive chain of events that lead to self-harm or violence," state Rep. Martin LaLonde, a Democrat, said in a statement.

Democratic House Speaker Mitzi Johnson said the bill's aim was to "keep guns out of the hands of dangerous people, not responsible gun owners."
The final version of the bill was a compromise. The version that passed the Senate earlier in the year stipulated a 48-hour waiting period, instead of the shorter one-day wait.

Opponents of the bill argue that it violates gun owners' rights and will deal a dramatic blow to gun shows, where handguns are often bought on-site. An amendment to grant an exception to gun shows failed in the House, according to the AP.
The measure also revamps restrictions on the transfer and use of high-capacity ammunition feeding devices. unquote

 

solus

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
8,165
Location
here nc
Uh, er page 4 of 6 of your cite...

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 4019a is added to read:
§ 4019a. HAND GUN TRANSFERS; WAITING PERIOD
(a) A person shall not transfer a hand gun to another person until 24 hours after the completion of the background check required by 18 U.S.C. § 922(t) or section 4019 of this title.

(b) A person who transfers a hand gun to another person in violation of subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $500.00, or both.

(c) This section shall not apply to a hand gun transfer that does not require a background check under 18 U.S.C. § 922(t) or section 4019 of this title.
 

color of law

Accomplished Advocate
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,854
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Well, damn!
8) "Unlicensed person" means a person who has not been issued a license as a dealer, importer, or manufacturer in firearms pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 923(a).

(b)(1) Except as provided in subsection (e) of this section, an unlicensed person shall not transfer a firearm to another unlicensed person unless:
(A) the proposed transferor and the proposed transferee physically appear together with the firearm before a licensed dealer and request that the licensed dealer facilitate the transfer; and
(B) the licensed dealer agrees to facilitate the transfer.
(2) A person shall not, in connection with the transfer or attempted transfer of a firearm pursuant to this section, knowingly make a false statement or exhibit a false identification intended to deceive a licensed dealer with respect to any fact material to the transfer.
(c)(1) A licensed dealer who agrees to facilitate a firearm transfer pursuant to this section shall comply with all requirements of State and federal law and shall, unless otherwise expressly provided in this section, conduct the transfer in the same manner as the licensed dealer would if selling the firearm from his or her own inventory, but shall not be considered a vendor.
(2) A licensed dealer shall return the firearm to the proposed transferor and decline to continue facilitating the transfer if the licensed dealer determines that the proposed transferee is prohibited by federal or State law from purchasing or possessing the firearm.
(3) A licensed dealer may charge a reasonable fee to facilitate the transfer of a firearm between a proposed transferor and a proposed transferee pursuant to this section.
(d)(1) An unlicensed person who transfers a firearm to another unlicensed person in violation of subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $500.00, or both.
Unconstitutional. This law has never been tested.
 
Last edited:
Top